Vanilla and Honey Pannacotta

Standard

023

I was surprised by the simplicity of this recipe. I love pannacotta and often order it at restaurants but had never attempted it myself.

I am pleased I gave it a go as I found it very easy and it will now be a staple dessert for dinner parties. This recipe is personally one of the best I have had, the pannacotta was wobbly and soft and had a lovely smooth texture. Use your imagination when it comes to serving options, three ideas I have had are fresh feijoas or figs, blueberry compote, or simple pour a very strong espresso over the top before serving

You could reduce the gelatin leaves by one and serve the pannacotta in their moulds if you wish (they would look cute in vintage teacups) but as I wanted to turn them out using jelly moulds I made sure they were slightly stronger.
027

Ingredients
3 sheets of gelatin
300 mls of double cream
200 mls of milk
1/4 cup of runny honey
1 vanilla pod

Method
Place the gelatin in a bowl of cold water to soak for 5 minutes. Place the cream, milk and honey into a saucepan, slice the vanilla pod in half and scrap out the seeds into the cream mixture, and add the pod in too.
Heat the mixture until almost boiling stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat and add the drained gelatin (squeeze the water out with your hands when transferring to the saucepan) Stir until the gelatin has dissolved. Strain the mixture through a sieve (add a cloth to the sieve if you want to remove the vanilla seeds, I didn’t as I quite liked the black flecks) Place the bowl into the sink with ice-cold water to cool the mixture, stir occasionally until cool.

Pour the mixture into moulds or teacups and place in the fridge for at least two hours

To remove from the moulds, dunk in hot water for 10 seconds then carefully tip out on to the plate.

025

Leave a Reply

