Caramel Popcorn

Standard

I have been craving popcorn lately, butter-salted or caramel I don’t mind which. I decided to give my own a go. The first one I tried didn’t quite work out, the caramel was delicious but it was more like a sauce. I might have to add it to my “For the love of Caramel” post as it would be great on ice-cream or sticky date pudding.

The second recipe was perfect, sticky, salty, sweet, crunchy and just amazing!
032

Here goes..

Ingredients
1/2 cup of popping corn
250 gms of brown sugar
125 gms butter
1/2 glucose syrup (this stuff is great for truffles, and candies. It is mega sticky so wipe the jar clean if you spill any, otherwise you will never get the jar open again)
1/2 tin of condensed milk (I didn’t mean to, I promise. I take no responsibility if you eat the rest of the tin)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method
Make the popcorn according to the instructions on the pack, I usually heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a large pot (with a lid) and then add the popcorn, shake the pot on the heat for around 3 mins or until the popping stops. Pour into a large bowl
037

Put the brown sugar, butter and glucose in a med size pot and heat to until boiling.

039

Add the condensed milk and reduce to a medium heat. Stir consistently until the caramel reaches soft ball stage. Remove from heat and stir through the vanilla,

Pour over the popcorn and stir with a wooden spoon. Leave to cool and set for around 15 minutes

067

Leave a Reply

